Best Practices Recognition Program



The Texas Fire Chiefs Association (TFCA) has developed a best practices program to encourage fire departments in Texas to seek continual improvement in their services to their local community.

There are twelve chapters which define best practices in the typical service areas provided by a fire department. This program is applicable to paid, combination, and volunteer fire organizations.

The TFCA encourages fire departments to pursue this third-party designation by completing the performance requirements outlined in the program.  This will be a challenging but worthwhile endeavor for organizations pursuing this designation.

The TFCA further encourages fire departments to pursue accreditation through the Center for Public Safety Excellence. The TFCA Best Practices program will help facilitate progress toward national accreditation for those seeking this designation.

The TFCA worked closely with progressive fire officers throughout Texas to create a program that defines a pathway to organizational excellence which ultimately enhances firefighter safety, long-term planning, standard operating guidelines, deployment analysis, risk management, and other administrative functions. While most communities believe their local fire department is excellent, elected officials, city managers, fire chiefs and citizens have the opportunity to verify this belief by their fire department attaining this best practices designation. It is always preferred that an independent third party determine if an organization functions at a defined level of excellence.

The TFCA Best Practices program provides a pathway for a fire department to push its level of service to a status of excellence that is validated by independent experts. This designation will demonstrate to customers of these organizations that their fire department is among the very best in the Texas fire service.


enroll in Best Practices now


Apply Now

Click the image above to enroll in the TFCA Best Practices Recognition Program

Best Practices forms

Administrative_Guide_Edition 3 Final (pdf)


Annual Report Form (pdf)


Best Practices Check List Edition 3 Final (pdf)


Best Practices Manual Edition 3 Final (pdf)


Presite Survey (pdf)


Document_Submission_Form (pdf)


Application For TMLIRP Funding for First Year of Best Practices

TMLIRP can provide funding for first year fees to member agencies that enter the  TFCA Best Practices Recognition Program. Funding is on a first come basis, with yearly update fees the responsibility of the member entity. 

Sample Proofs From Recognized Best Practices departments

If you would like to view sample proofs from Recognized Best Practices Departments please email us below and you will be given access to the Public Dropbox. Please allow 24 hours from the time of request for staff to process your request.

Recognized Departments


Addison Fire Department

Belton Fire

Bryan Fire Department

Coppell Fire Department

Hutto Fire Rescue

Irving Fire Department

Keller Fire Department

Kilgore Fire Department

Longview Fire Rescue

McKinney Fire Department

Melissa Fire Department

North Richland Hills Fire Rescue

Red Oak Fire Rescue

Roanoke Fire Department

Rowlett Fire Rescue

South Montgomery County Fire Department

University Park Fire Department

Victoria Fire Department

Watauga Fire Department

Webster Fire

Wylie Fire Rescue

Getting Started


Before officially enrolling in the program please review the Administrative Guide as well as the Program Manual. We strongly encourage those who plan to enroll review all the documents available so they may be fully informed of the responsibilities of both the candidate departments and the TFCA.  

By completing this form, you will be officially enrolled in the Best Practices Program.  Before beginning, designate a primary contact on this enrollment form who will be the one you anticipate handling the majority of the submissions for the program. 

Annual Fees


Annual Fees (1-10 Fire Fighters) - $350.00

Annual Fees (11-25 Fire Fighters) - $500.00

Annual Fees (26-50 Fire Fighters) - $1,200.00

Annual Fees (51-100 Fire Fighters) - $1,600.00

Annual Fees (101-200 Fire Fighters) - $2,000.00

Annual Fees (201 or more Fire Fighters) - $2,400.00

Best Practices Committee


Chief Eric Thompson, Chair

  • Brent Parker
  • Stan Tinney
  • Dale Skinner
  • Kade Long
  • JP Steelman
  • Michael Gdovin
  • Gregg Loyd
  • Todd Weidman
  • Neil Howard
  • Keith Scarbrough
  • Johnny Bellows
  • Ben Blanton
  • Shawn Fannan
  • Scott Eager
  • David Jones


Best Practices Recognition Board


Chief Robert Isbell, Committee Chair, Round Rock

Chris Connealy, Senior Director of Emergency Services of Williamson County

Ron Holifield, Strategic Government Resources

Bob Leiper, City Manager (ret’d), Baytown

Paul Gunnels, TEEX

Julie Acevedo, Political Consultant

Dr. Geoffrey Tumlin, Mouthpeace Consulting

Burney Basket, Rowlett Fire Rescue

Candidate Departments


Alice Fire Department 

Annaville Fire Department

Cedar Hill Fire Department
Celina Fire Department

Corsicana Fire Rescue

DeSoto Fire Rescue
Flower Mound Fire Department
Glenn Heights Fire Department
Kyle Fire Department

Lake Worth Fire Department
Little Elm Fire Department
Mesquite Fire Department

Nueces County ESD#2
Odessa Fire Rescue
Porter Fire Department
Prosper Fire Department

Richardson Fire Department
Schertz Fire Rescue
Shavano Park Fire Department - Under Review 

Temple Fire and Rescue
Terrell Hills Fire Department
Town of Westlake Fire - EMS Department 

Travis County ESD1

Westminster Fire Rescue 

Wilson County District 2 Emergency Services