2018/2019 Legislative plan


Legislative Committee Members

  • Chief Clay Huckaby –  Buda Fire Chief
  • Chief Les Stephens – San Marcos Fire Chief
  • Chief Robert Isbell – Round Rock Fire Chief
  • Chief Jimmy Chew – Stephenville Fire Chief
  • Chief Brett Parker – Wylie Fire Chief
  • Mike Wisko – Galveston Fire Chief

Legislative Committee Mission

The Legislative Committee will strive to build and maintain positive relationships with legislators and all Fire Service interest Groups in an effort to develop and maintain logical legislative initiatives which reflect the Mission, Vision and Priorities outlined in the TFCA Strategic Plan while enhancing the safety and welfare of the Citizens and Fire Service professionals of the Great State of Texas.

Legislative Plan

  • Set Legislative Priorities
  • Identify Bills that are of interest to TFCA
  • Assign Committee members to focus on specific Priorities
  • Identify Chiefs by Representative/Senate Districts 
  • Work with Fire Service Consortium to push Priorities
  • Work with TML to ensure support for legislative priorities
  • Meet/Get to know State Senators, State Representatives and their Staff members
  • Regular Conference Calls with Committee, TML and TFCA Lobbyists

2019 Priorities

  • Career Ending injuries
  • PTSD/Mental Health legislation
  • State Fire Response agency
  • TIFMAS funding
  • Residential Sprinklers
  • Guns